Classifieds | Archives | Jobs | About TGT | Contact | Subscribe
Last updated 0 minute ago
Printer Friendly Version | TGT@Twitter | RSS Feed |
Many big political names face ultimatum from ECP
February 19, 2013
 Print    Send to Friend

ISLAMABAD: Leader of the opposition oin National Assembly (NA) Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, ruling Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) ministers Syed Khurshid Shah, Qamar Zaman Kaira and Javed Hashmi are included in the list of 249 MPs who have been given 15-day ultimatum by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to get their degrees verified or be ready to be declared as fake degree holders besides facing criminal proceedings.

Every second name in this list of 249 MPs is important and even the likes of Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain, Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat, Imtiaz Safdar Warriach, Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan, Mian Manzoor Ahmad Khan Wattoo, Rukhsana Bangash, Syed Samsam Ali Shah Bukhari, Gulzar Ahmad Khan, Afrasiab Khattak, Amir Muqam, Mahreen Anwar Raja, Lt Gen (retd) Abdul Qadir Baloch, Attiya Inayat Ullah, Hamid Nasir Chatha, Mohammed Raza Hayat Hiraj, Raja Riaz Ahmad and Sardar Sanaullah Khan Zehri also make part of this large group of suspects.

On Sunday, local media broke the story of the ECP’s warning to 249 MPs, including senators, members of National Assembly and members of provincial assemblies that if they don’t get their degrees verified within 15 days they would be treated as fake degree holders.


The ECP has also warned these MPs that the commission would also initiate criminal proceedings against them.

This move of the ECP would also help bar the fake degree holders from contesting the next general elections.

Apparently, the list of the such MPs is made on the basis of 2008 data as the name of not only at least one expired MNA Shahbaz Bhatti but a few of those who have already resigned are also reflected in the list.

The list of 249 include 11 senators, 98 MNAs, 87 members of the Punjab Assembly, seven members of the Sindh Assembly, nine members of the Balochistan Assembly and 37 members of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly.

The following is the complete list of these MPs. From the Senate, such members are Senators Abdul Raziq, Gulzar Ahmad Khan, Afrasiab Khattak, Adnan Khan, Abdur Rahim Khan Mandokhail, Gul Naseeb Khan, Fauzia Arshad, Gulsan Ara, Sardar Muhammad Jamal Khan Leghari, Syed Javed Ali Shah and Muhammad Talha Mahmood.



Add this page to your favorite Social Bookmarking websites
Post a comment
Related Stories
Tribal kids to get polio jab at checkposts
PESHAWAR: Pakistani officials said on Monday they would begin administering polio vaccines to children at security checkpoints in the country’s tribal belt to protect aga..
Upper House quiet on foreign affairs: Report
ISLAMABAD: The Upper House of Pakistan has paid little attention to foreign affairs over the past year, the Free and Fair Election Network’s (FAFEN) Annual Senate Report..
MQM chief applies for Pakistani passport in UK
ISLAMABAD: The supreme leader of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Altaf Hussain, has applied for a Pakistani passport, said a news report. The London-based MQM chie..
Sharif faces fight over tough anti-terror legislation
ISLAMABAD: The Pakistani government is facing a battle to enact a tough anti-terror law that rights activists and opposition parties have attacked as repressive. The P..
ASWJ leader Ludhianvi declared lawmaker
ISLAMABAD: Pakistan’s Election Commission has awarded a parliamentary seat to the leader of a banned sectarian group that activists blame for the deaths of hundreds of pe..
Advertise | Copyright