Classifieds | Archives | Jobs | About TGT | Contact | Subscribe
Last updated 2 hours, 34 minutes ago
Printer Friendly Version | TGT@Twitter | RSS Feed |
4 Meghalaya legislators join BJP
January 03, 2018
 Print    Send to Friend

SHILLONG: Four Meghalaya legislators, including Congress’ Alexander Hek, on Tuesday resigned as members of the Meghalaya Assembly and joined the BJP ahead of elections slated next month.

The ninth Meghalaya Assembly, comprising 60 members, was constituted on March 1, 2013, and its term expires on March 6 next year.

Hek is a former BJP-turned Congress legislator, who had served as a former Health and Family Welfare Minister in the Mukul Sangma cabinet before being sacked last year to calm the rebellion within the Congress Legislature party.

The other three who quit include former Deputy Speaker Sanbor Shullai of the Nationalist Congress Party, besides two Independent legislators — Robinus Syngkon and Justine Dkhar.

With the latest resignation of four, the strength of the ruling Congress has been reduced to 23 from 30 members in the truncated 48-member assembly following the resignations. The actual strength of Meghalaya assembly is 60.

However, Mukul Sangma is expected to complete his five-year term as Chief Minister with the support of one Nationalist Congress Party legislator, one member from the North-East Democratic Socialist Party and five independent legislators supporting the Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance government.

Soon after submitting their resignation letter to Assembly Speaker, Abu Taher Mondal, the four were formally inducted as members of the BJP at a public meeting held at Golf Link.

Union Tourism Minister KJ Alphons, who is also the party’s Meghalaya election in-charge, BJP national general secretary in-charge North East, Ram Madhav, and BJP national spokesperson Nalin Kohli attended the meeting.

Hek, who had won on a BJP ticket in the 1998, 2003 and 2008 polls and retained his assembly seat on Congress ticket in 2013, said, “The Lotus will bloom again in Meghalaya.”

Welcoming the four former legislators into the BJP fold, BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav said, “We are starting the New Year with a kitty of four MLAs already with elections two months away. We already have four MLAs. I have no doubt about their getting re-elected. Look at the Congress party, they are starting the new year with minus 12 MLAs.”

Indo-Asian News Service

Add this page to your favorite Social Bookmarking websites
Post a comment
Related Stories
AAP to challenge MLAs’ disqualification
NEW DELHI: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will file a fresh plea in the Delhi High Court on Tuesday to challenge the decision to disqualify 20 party MLAs in an office-of-profi..
Political parties oppose simultaneous polls
NEW DELHI: Several opposition parties on Monday opposed the idea of holding simultaneous elections to the Lok Sabha and state Assemblies. At a meeting of the Parliamen..
Congress slams CM, terms Haryana as India’s ‘rape state’
NEW DELHI: Terming Haryana the “Rape State of India,” the Congress on Sunday said that it was shocking that the attitude of Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar and his gov..
Doctor sounds warning on air pollution in state
JAIPUR: Rajasthan suffers the most in the matter of indoor and outdoor air pollution and COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Diseases) due to such pollution account for m..
Punjab CM urges farmers not to agitate
CHANDIGARH: Appealing to the state’s angry debt-ridden farming community, Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh urged them to shun the path of agitation and said his gove..
Advertise | Copyright