Classifieds | Archives | Jobs | About TGT | Contact | Subscribe
Last updated 9 minutes ago
Printer Friendly Version | TGT@Twitter | RSS Feed |
Mindanao police hold 300 ‘flying voters’
By Manolo B. Jara March 20, 2012
 Print    Send to Friend

MANILA: Police on Monday reported the arrest of 300 suspected “flying voters” on board several vehicles while on their way to election registration centers in Maguindanao province in volatile Mindanao.

Chief Inspector Abubakar Mangelen Junior, the head of the Maguindanao provincial police mobile group, said that among those arrested were about 50 minors.

Mangelen said the suspects were aboard several vehicles including passenger jeepneys when they were intercepted at the checkpoints established by the police and the military in the province.

The suspects, he added, admitted they were to be brought to the voters’ registration centres set up by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) in the towns of Rajah Buayan, Sultan sa Barongis, Datu Unsay and Saidona in Maguindanao.

As the name implies, the Comelec defines flying voters as “multiple registrants” who can go from one voting centre to another to cast their ballots during the election.

“The arrested suspects told us they were hired to register as voters but they have yet to tell us who hired them so we can file the appropriate charges against these people,” Mangelen said.

Following the arrest, Maguindanao Governor Esmael Mangudadatu appealed to President Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino and Sixto Brilliantes, the Comelec chairman, to annul the old voters’ lists and order a new registration using the biometric system.

Mangudadatu noted that Brilliantes has ordered a continuing registration of voters in a determined attempt to cleanse the old list due to the presence of flying voters and other illegal voters.

However, Mangudadatu also pointed out that Brilliantes appeared to have abandoned implementation of the biometric system which would cost the Comelec about $20 million which it could not afford at this time.

Maguindanao is a component province of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) along with Lanao del Sur, Tawi-Tawi, Basilan and Sulu as well as Marawi City.

Under a new law, elections there scheduled in August 2011 were deferred to coincide with the country’s midterm polls in May 2013.

Add this page to your favorite Social Bookmarking websites
Post a comment
Related Stories
Manila, Moro rebels upbeat on peace accord
MANILA: The government and the separatist Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) on Monday remained upbeat on the signing of an agreement that would bring peace and end dec..
Gunmen kill 15 Philippine fishermen
MANILA: Several men aboard speedboats and armed with assault rifles swooped down on a group of fishermen off the island province of Basilan in strife-torn Mindanao, killi..
Supreme Court stops Arroyo plunder trial
MANILA: The Supreme Court (SC) on Tuesday ordered a 90-day suspension of the trial of the non-bailable plunder case filed against ailing and embattled former president Gl..
Alert raised as Philippine volcano erupts
MANILA: One of the country’s most active volcanoes located on Negros island in the Visayas has erupted, prompting the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (..
Gunman kills Filipino judge inside cockfight arena
MANILA: A suspected “hired gun” shot and killed a municipal court judge in Northern Samar province in the Visayas, the fourth member of the judiciary to be killed this ye..
Advertise | Copyright