MBM Gulf 1st to enter BS Super Star T20 final - GulfToday

MBM Gulf 1st to enter BS Super Star T20 final


MBM Gulf CC team players after they defeated Karwan Strikers to enter the final of the BS Super Star T20 tournament.

MBM Gulf CC defeated Karwan Strikers by four wickets in their last league match to become the first team to qualify for the final of the BS Super Star T20 tournament being played at the Eden Gardens cricket ground in Ajman.

As per the format of the tournament, MBM Gulf CC are occupying the top spot after winning all their league matches.

Karwan Strikers opted to bat first after calling the coin correctly.

They managed to post a competitive 168 for the loss of four wickets from their allotted 20 overs.

Karwan Strikers’ openers Azeem Ghumman and Saqib Azeem lost their wickets with just 18 runs on the board. However, Hammad Azam and wicket-keeper Abdul Shakoor revived the Karwan Strikers’ innings as they both shared a 110-run partnership.

While Azam hit a quick-fire 63 off 33 balls, including five sixes and four boundaries, Shakoor scored an unbeaten 68 (9x4, 1x6). Jahandad added 11 as Karwan Strikers’ reached 168. For MBM Gulf CC, Abdul Malik, Luqman, Waheed Ahmad and Zawar Fareed took one wicket each.

The 169-run chase for the in-form MBM Gulf CC batsmen proved to be one one that was not easy, with the match going into the last over and the winning target achieved with only four balls to spare.

MBM Gulf CC openers Dawooz Ijaz and Syed Maqsood made a quick start with 20 runs coming from just two overs.

Ijaz (11) was dismissed by Azam and next-in batsmen Shahan Akram also lost his wicket, after adding just three runs. Maqsood 64 (6x4, 5x6) and Safeer (23) did the bulk of scoring. Both were removed by Babar Iqbal. Their return to the dressing home left MBM Gulf CC struggling at 129 for four from 14.4 overs.

Later, Usman held his nerve and played a patient knock of 38 off 27 balls, including four boundaries and one over the ropes, to ensure MBM Gulf CC’s victory. He was well supported by Zawar Fareed (14).

Maqsood’s fine innings of 64 fetched him the man of the match award.

Karwan Strikers’ Sadat Munir and Iqbal took two wickets each. In another match played earlier, Chemietech registered an easy eight-wicket win over Karwan Strikers.

After winning the toss, Karwan Strikers elected to bat first. Chemietech’s Hafeezur Rehman and Imtiaz Ahmad, who shared three wickets each, rocked the Karwan Strikers’ top order as they were bundled out for a mere 114. Waheed Ahmad (36) and Arsalan J (12) were their top scorers. However,  the rest of their batsmen failed to even reach double figures.

In reply, Ashfaq Ahmad smashed 59 off 34 balls studded with two boundaries and equal number of sixes, while Mohammed Sami hit an unbeaten 35 as Chemietech reached their target in 14.2 overs. Ashfaq was named as man of the match.

The BS Super Star T20 tournament is being sponsored by MGM CC, Aangan Restaurant and BS Sports LLC.


Related articles