Keswani helps Ronins Challengers emerge winners at BS League - GulfToday

Keswani helps Ronins Challengers emerge winners at BS League


Ronins Challengers skipper Amit Keswani receives the trophy from Gaurav Uppal, founder of BS League.

Riding high on skipper Amit Keswani unbeaten 75, Ronins Challengers defeated BS Thunder CC by seven wickets to win the final of BS League at the MCC in Ajman on Friday.

Keswani’s 75 off 42 balls was studded with seven boundaries and four towering sixes as Ronins Challengers chased down the winning target of 137 in 14.4 overs. Earlier, batting first after winning the toss, BS Thunder posted 136 for the loss of seven wickets from their allotted 20 overs.

Sukhjinder Singh (47), Vinayak (28) and Shawn (20) were their top scorers.

BS Thunder however, had a poor start as they lost two wickets with just eight runs on the board, but Shawn and Singh revived their innings courtesy a 27-run stand. Although Anand Mathew provided the breakthrough for Ronins, Singh stayed at the crease and was involved in another partnership with next man Vinayak. They both put up a 65-stand for the fourth wicket. After their departure, none of the BS Thunder batsmen managed to reach double figures. They finally posted 136. Ronins

In reply, Ronins Challengers’ were rocked early as they lost their openers early. Krishna Ronins returned to the pavilion after scoring just four runs. Sukhi also joined Ronins after hitting 17. However, Keswani’s unbeaten 75 and Kevin Gifford’s unbeaten 15 ensured Ronins Challengers clinch victory. Maninder Singh (14) was also among the runs. Keswani, who punished BS Thunder bowlers all over the ground, was named man of the match.

Ronins Challengers’ win in the final was sweet revenge for the loss BS Thunder inflicted on them in the league stages. Gaurav Uppal, founder of the BS League, gave away the prizes to the winners.


Best Fielder: Krishna (Ronin Challengers)

Best Bowler: Kapil Dhatiwalia (Ronin Challengers)

Best Batsman: Sapandeep Singh (BS Thunder CC)

Player of the Tournament: Sapandeep Singh (BS Thunder CC)

Best Captain:  Shiv (Pitchers CC).

Related articles