Pakistan announce women squad for Bangladesh T20Is - GulfToday

Pakistan announce women squad for Bangladesh T20Is

Salma Khatun (R), Bangladesh women cricket team captain and her Pakistani opponent Bismah Maroof (L) pose with the T20 series trophy in Lahore on Thursday. AFP

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced a 15-member women squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Bangladesh.

Bangladesh will play three T20I matches at the Gaddafi Stadium on Oct.26, 28 and 30.

Bismah Maroof will lead the side which surprisingly doesn't have Nida Dar, who is currently playing for Sydney Thunder in the Women's Big Bash League.

"We are delighted to host the Bangladesh team and look forward to an exciting series. It is the first international assignment for the team since the tour to South Africa in June. The team is a good blend of experience and young exciting players," chief selector Urooj Mumtaz said in a statement.

Bismah Maroof (L) and Salma Khatun pose with the T20 series trophy in Lahore on Thursday. AFP

"With the women's game developing at a rapid pace, we aim to play a positive and aggressive brand of cricket and produce solid performances. The primary focus will remain on winning as it will build confidence within the group, this is pivotal for us as we head into a busy international schedule over the next six months. During the series, we would also like to give an opportunity to some emerging players, so that they can experience the aura around international cricket and its pressures."

After the three T20Is, the two sides will also play two ODIs on Nov.2 and 4.


Squad: Bismah Maroof (captain), Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Iram Javed, Javeria Khan, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Khan, Omaima Sohail, Saba Nazir, Sadia Iqbal, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz.



Indo-Asian News Service

Related articles