Pakistan women's cricket team clinches T20 series against New Zealand - GulfToday

Pakistan women's cricket team clinches T20 series against New Zealand


Nida Dar poses for a photo with the trophy after the match ceremony in Oval, New Zealand, on Saturday. X Photo

Pakistan women's cricket team on Saturday clinched the three-match T20I series against Kiwis by 2-1 at John Davies Oval, New Zealand, media reported. 

The Green Shirts won the first two matches against the Kiwis by seven wickets and 10 runs, respectively, becoming the first Asian team to win the T20 series in New Zealand. The Nida Dar-led side lost the third match by just six runs via the DLS method.

Pakistan, batting first in the final clash, began with a steady opening partnership of 64 within 10 overs. The team scored 137 runs with a loss of five wickets.

Sidra Ameen was Pakistan's top scorer with 43 runs with their captain contributing 25.

New Zealand, who had already lost the series, began the chase well. Suzie Bates scored an unbeaten 51 off just 42 balls while Amelia Kerr managed to smash 35 from 31 balls.

Pakistanwomencricketers- Pakistan women players during a practice session ahead on final T20 match on Friday.

The Kiwis scored 101 runs with a loss of two wickets in 15 overs when the game was prematurely ended due to rain. The hosts won the match by six runs after being ahead on DLS.

Pakistan's Sadia Iqbal and Nashra Sandhu took one wicket each.

Dar, who was playing her 141st T20 match, became the first player to feature in most T20 matches in Pakistan. Earlier, this record was held by Bismah Maroof who played 140 T20 Internationals.

Bates was awarded as player of the match while Fatima Sana won the player of the series award.

The two sides will clash with each other for the ODI series of the ICC Women's Championship. The first match will be played on December 12 in Queenstown while the remaining two matches will be played on December 15 and 18 in Christchurch.


Related articles